Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 4th, 2009

The kids were lucky enough to have a snow day today.  I’m kinda’ happy about it too.  I remember as a kid what it was like to have a day out of school because of snow.  EXHILARATING!!   It’s something to break up the routine, space out the trials of school, time away from the sometimes suffocating structure of the school day.  I imagine that’s how DS feels today.  He hollered at the top of his lungs, “YAY!!  NO SCHOOL!!”  DD#1, however, moaned, “I want to go to school!”  It’s funny how different the responses are from kindergarten to Second Grade.  DD#2 seems to be happy to have her siblings home today…she just loves them!  DH is home too.  We have a full house to say the least!

Reasons I am happy and thankful that my family is home today:

  • I love them dearlly and most of the time they bring joy in my life.
  • I love to cuddle under warm blankets with shivering kids in from the cold.
  • We get to make hot chocolate as a special treat to warm up!
  • No one has to drive in bad weather…we are all home safe and sound.
  • DS has 3 sheets of homework that didn’t get done yesterday…now we have time to do them! (GOD is good!)
  • A day without any appointments, schedules, or agendas lets me just enjoy my kids.
  • A break from my job as “taxi driver” to school is always nice.
  • I love to see how the snow changes the landscape.  Everything is fresh and new.
  • Our outside cat is always huddled in the garage looking  a little messy and wet from the snow.  He’s cute with little snow droplets hanging off of him and we will probably snuggle with him in the house some today too.
  • I get to sleep late on snow days.  This am my inside cat curled up with me in bed and purred her squeaky, happy purr.

I hope and pray that you can take the time to enjoy your day, whereever you are, and be thankful for the things you have going right in your life!  God bless!

Read Full Post »